Longest Unbeaten Runs Since Start of Premier League

Arsene Wenger has cause for argument to be considered the greatest Premier League manager as he appears on this list twice.

Arsene Wenger is the longest-serving manager in the Premier League

Arsenal have hit a pretty impressive undefeated seam during the 2022-23 season but who are the kings of the Premier League unbeaten run.

Arsenal – 49 Matches (May 2003-Oct 2004)

Mikel Arteta would dearly love to emulate the feat achieved by one of his Arsenal predecessors, the legendary Arsene Wenger, who presided over a record-breaking 49-match run in the Premier League, a run which lasted 17 months.

The run started at the back end of 2002-03, lasted until early in 2004-05 and therefore encompassed the entire 2003-04 campaign, making them the one and only team to go through a Premier League season unbeaten.

Little wonder that Thierry Henry and co were, are and always will be known as The Invincibles.

Liverpool – 44 Matches (Jan 2019-Feb 2020)

Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool came within six matches of wiping the Gunners from the record books before coming a cropper – in the unlikeliest of circumstances.

The Reds had ended that thrilling, but ultimately luckless, battle with Manchester City for the 2018-19 title on a 17-match winning streak, pipped by a point for the trophy.

But undeterred, they carried on their imperious progress into the following campaign, going unbeaten until February when, out of the blue, they were thumped 3-0 at relegation-threatened Watford, a minor hiccup en route to winning the title by 18 points.

Chelsea – 40 Matches (Oct 2004-Oct 2005)

It didn’t take Jose Mourinho long to demonstrate his special credentials, winning the title in his first season at Stamford Bridge.

The only defeat suffered during his first season at Chelsea was against Manchester City on October 16, and this teak-tough team, built around stars like Petr Cech, John Terry and Frank Lampard, didn’t lose again for over a year.

The Bridge continued to be a fortress with Chelsea not losing a home match until October 2008, long after Mourinho had left the building.

Arsenal – 30 Matches (Dec 2001-Oct 2002)

Arsene Wenger’s dry run for what was to come was a 30-match unbeaten run from December 2001, a modest haul next to 49 games undefeated but impressive nonetheless.

The Gunners kickstarted this sparkling sequence with a 2-1 win at Liverpool just before Christmas and didn’t lose again until October 2002 at Everton.

It means Wenger is the only managed to have racked up two unbeaten runs of at least 30 matches.

Manchester City – 30 Matches (Apr 2017-Jan 2018)

It wouldn’t be a top five without there being a place in it for Pep Guardiola’s extraordinary Manchester City, and here they are in joint fourth.

City had ended 2016-17 strongly, going unbeaten in eight matches, and that lit the blue touch paper for the following term which saw them go unbeaten until January 14 when they lost a thriller, 4-3, at Liverpool.

City would not be stopped, however, going on to lift the title and as a result of chalking up 100 points – the first team to do so – to earn the nickname The Centurions.

Steve Davies is an occasional contributor to the MansionBet Blog. He holds a keen interest in many sports, with Darts taking the first position.
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *