XFL 2023 Team Rundown

The 2023 XFL season is in full swing and there are a few contenders already staking their claim for glory.

American Football

The XFL American football league is up and running again, following the abandonment of the 2020 season, and eight teams based across the country will do battle to be crowned champions on May 13.

The teams are divided into North and South Divisions and each will play ten matches. Then the top two in each division will go through to the playoffs.

So let’s see which teams will be aiming for glory.

South Division

Arlington Renegades

The Renegades were based in Dallas for the 2020 season and they won two of their five matches before the campaign ended. They have moved to Arlington for 2023 and are again being coached by Bob Stoops, who has led them to three victories in their opening five games, with former Minnesota Viking Kyle Sloter playing at quarterback.

Houston Roughnecks

The Houston Roughnecks were probably the most disappointed franchise in XFL when the 2020 season was abandoned as they had won their first five matches under the guidance of coach June Jones. However, they have picked up from where they left off in 2023 with former Denver Broncos, Buffalo Bills and Dallas Cowboys head coach Wade Phillips taking the reins and leading them to four wins in their first five games.

Orlando Guardians

The Guardians were based in New York for the 2020 season under the stewardship of former Giants offensive coordinator and they won three of their five matches. However, for the 2023 campaign, the franchise moved to Orlando and Terrell Buckley took over calling the shots. However, they have struggled, losing their first five matches of the new year.

San Antonio Brahmas

The Brahmas were one of the new franchises to join XFL this year, ultimately replacing the LA Wildcats. They have had a tough start to the campaign, winning just one of their opening former matches under the guidance of former Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Hines Ward.

North Division

DC Defenders

The DC Defenders, based in Washington, earned the distinction of winning the first game in XFL history when they defeated Seattle Dragons 31-19 in February 2020, one of three wins they gained that year. They have flourished in 2023 under new coach Reggie Barlow, winning their opening five matches of the season.

Seattle Sea Dragons

The Seattle Sea Dragons were just the Dragons when they won one of their five games under Jim Zorn in 2020. Jim Haslett was hired as coach for the new campaign and they have won three times so far in 2023, with former Cleveland Browns wide receiver Josh Gordon on the roster.

St Louis BattleHawks

Former Cincinnati Bengals tight end coach Jonathan Hayes was put in charge of the St Louis franchise for the 2020 season and he led them to a 3-2 record. That has been matched now that the BattleHawks are led by Antony Brecht, following the first five matches of the 2023 campaign.

Vegas Vipers

The Vipers were based in Tampa Bay for the inaugural season and won one of their five matches when former CFL Championship-winning coach Marc Trestman was at the helm. He was replaced by former Baltimore Ravens Super Bowl-winning defensive back Rod Woodson for 2023, who has guided them to a similar record from their first five outings this season.

A vastly experienced journalist, Ian has worked the beat on a number of local newspapers and covers a number of different sports for the Racing Post
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *